Unwritten

A few months back I heard a singer being interviewed on TV. I’d spent the morning prior to the interview watching back-to-back episodes of the TV show Hoarders. To me, there is nothing that gets me in the cleaning mode like watching someone else kick their way into their own living room.

So naturally, I was knee deep in my closet behind a pile of shoes I hadn’t worn in ten years and a stack of size 4 pants I finally realized was never going to happen, when Hoarders ended and an interview program began.

At first I didn’t pay any attention because, to be honest, I was taking advantage of the acoustics in my closet and singing like a feral cat. When I finally got sick of my own voice, which unfortunately took longer than you’d think, I heard a portion of the interview.

The interviewer, whose name I missed, was questioning an artist, whose name I missed, about his work ethic. He asked how he was able to drive foreword at such a fever of energy without knowing if he’d ever be discovered.

The artist’s answer was simple, yet brilliant.
He said, “You can’t sing a song that ain’t been written.”

Those words have stuck in my brain ever since. You can’t sing a song that ain’t been written. And so goes with my books. I can write book after book, hoping for success, yet never knowing which, if any, will be the one to open the door for me.

Having said that, it’s time for me to go. As much as I’d like to spend the day in my happy blog land, there is much work to be done. After all … you can’t read a book that ain’t been written.

**If anyone finds out the name of this artist, please pass it my way. Thanks! -Colleen

Leave a Reply

Inside Baltimore

The City's Real Newspaper

Brenda Drake Contests

making connections

The Winged Pen

It takes a flock to get a story aloft.

Life, Love and Letters

Things I want my kids to know, and what they've taught me so far...

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

L.L. McKinney

Science Fiction & Fantasy Author

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

The Writings and Rantings of Frank L. Cole

Tales of the funny, the sweet, and everything in between

Literary Rambles

Tales of the funny, the sweet, and everything in between

TL Sumner, YA Author

Play hard. Love harder.

Tales of the funny, the sweet, and everything in between

Shanda McCloskey, Children's Illustrator

Tales of the funny, the sweet, and everything in between

Kid Lit Dish

Kim's Magical Journey Into the World of Children's Picture Books

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

