Bottling Inspiration

When I was younger I remember my dad sitting me down to listen to Peter and the Wolf, an orchestra piece that told of Peter’s perilous forest adventure through music and narration. My dad had me shut my eyes and feel the story through the distinctive instruments and melodies.

I can still recall being transcended off our red, green and blue couch (ouch, memories) into the forest where I could see Peter skipping to the uplifting violin strings and I could feel the wolf’s threatening presence through the grave notes of the French horns.

It was a tremendous experience and began my appreciation for what music could do for a story. I recall this because today a song came on my beloved Pandora that took me back to that misunderstood couch and my experience of seeing a story through music.

The song is The Tempest by Jennifer Thomas on her album Key of Sea. The second it began I imagined a little rabbit hopping through a neighborhood leading me to a field where a young girl stood contemplating life.

It was so colorful I actually stopped what I was doing, shut my eyes, and allowed her story to play out in my imagination. I don’t know if my creation was what Jennifer had in mind when she wrote the piece. But that’s what’s so great about music and writing. It doesn’t matter. Once it’s out there it becomes personal. Special.

For those of you that have never had this experience, do yourself a favor, turn down all the words that seem to shout at us now-a-days, turn on some instrumental music, and create your own story.

Delight in your own mind.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. T. L. Sumner
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 23:44:48

    Excellent post, as always!! 🙂 I totally agree. When I’m stuck on a scene, the first thing I do is turn on some music to help me figure it out. Chris Botti has many songs that I have to stop what I’m doing, close my eyes and feel the music in my soul.

    Reply

  2. colleenbennett
    Oct 02, 2013 @ 12:15:03

    Thanks, Tosha! Sounds like I have to create a Chris Botti station on my Pandora.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Inside Baltimore

The City's Real Newspaper

Brenda Drake Contests

making connections

The Winged Pen

It takes a flock to get a story aloft.

Life, Love and Letters

Things I want my kids to know, and what they've taught me so far...

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

L.L. McKinney

Science Fiction & Fantasy Author

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

The Writings and Rantings of Frank L. Cole

Tales of the funny, the sweet, and everything in between

Literary Rambles

Tales of the funny, the sweet, and everything in between

TL Sumner, YA Author

Play hard. Love harder.

Tales of the funny, the sweet, and everything in between

Shanda McCloskey, Children's Illustrator

Tales of the funny, the sweet, and everything in between

Kid Lit Dish

Kim's Magical Journey Into the World of Children's Picture Books

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

