Turtle Power

Okay, so I’ve told you about the times my brain goes on autopilot and stories
seem to write themselves. Well let’s talk about the times when that doesn’t happen. LIKE NOW!

An idea came to me recently about a problem I’ve seen happen in school settings. I thought it over and a book began to form. That was the easy part. As for the writing?

The normal story lines that flow into my brain are funny, wacky, and reflect my very odd view of the world. This new story is more reflective, more sensitive and, as such, is taking on a different writing process, one that is painful, unwilling, and, to put it mildly, s-l-o-w.

Let’s take a little break to watch that turtle mosey on by.

This has become my typical day:
8:00 -Open story file
8:02 -Get a cup of coffee
8:05 -Begin writing
8:10 -Delete everything I just wrote
8:12 -Ponder the possibility of eating a sandwich
8:15 -Make said sandwich
8:20 -Type new section while dipping my crust in ketchup
8:24 –Decide a pickle is needed
8:26 –Marvel at the crunch a pickle adds
8:30 -Delete everything I wrote and begin planning my next snack

Really? Is this a productive morning? Ending with less words and far less food in my fridge than I began with?

The way I see it, if I want to complete this book and still fit in my underpants when it’s over, I must develop a better method of writing for this particular story.

I’ll certainly try, although just now, as I was thinking of getting back to my story, I remembered this great lasagna sandwich my cousin Stevie made me. I’m pretty sure I can duplicate it. I just need some sauce, a bunch of gooey cheese, the right bread–maybe Italian or those little Hawaiian buns ….

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. T. L. Sumner
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 23:45:00

    You are sooooo funny! And I can totally relate. By the way — I’m coming over for a snack tomorrow. 🙂

    Reply

  2. colleenbennett
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 19:44:22

    Anytime. I hope you don’t mind ketchup.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Inside Baltimore

The City's Real Newspaper

Brenda Drake Contests

making connections

The Winged Pen

It takes a flock to get a story aloft.

Life, Love and Letters

Things I want my kids to know, and what they've taught me so far...

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

L.L. McKinney

Science Fiction & Fantasy Author

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

The Writings and Rantings of Frank L. Cole

Tales of the funny, the sweet, and everything in between

Literary Rambles

Tales of the funny, the sweet, and everything in between

TL Sumner, YA Author

Play hard. Love harder.

Tales of the funny, the sweet, and everything in between

Shanda McCloskey, Children's Illustrator

Tales of the funny, the sweet, and everything in between

Kid Lit Dish

Kim's Magical Journey Into the World of Children's Picture Books

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

