Word To Yourself

I’m not against a good critique. In fact, I welcome it, but there’s something unsettling about being critiqued by my own computer.

As with most, I apply auto-correct when writing a document. Unlike most, I type everything backwards.

I probably could have fixed this habit when I took typing in high school, but back then I was too busy passing notes and pressing the keys as fast as I could to make it sound like I was typing fast.

Now I’m stuck with dyslexic hands. This puts an awful lot of pressure on my auto-correct.

The most frequent correction I get is that little red line under my misspellings. That’s okay, I deserve it. I also get a lot of verb confusion consider revising. No problem, I can handle that, too.

Then my auto-correct turned on me. It went too far. First, it went on strike claiming I had too many corrections for it to handle. Then yesterday, it told me I was too wordy. Too wordy, me?

I have a hundred reasons why I’m not too wordy, and I almost drafted a sternly written letter to the makers of Microsoft to tell them so, but I stopped myself. It was right. My auto-correct managed to tell me in two words, what my friends and family have been trying to tell me all my life.

So do yourself a favor, use caution when using auto-correct. The truth is a harsh ally.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mike Hartman
    Feb 01, 2014 @ 18:01:29

    You? Too wordy?? Say it ain’t so!!! I love reading your stuff no matter how wordy. Happy New Year Colleen. My best to your family. Hit me back with an update when you have a minute. Love, Mike

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Inside Baltimore

The City's Real Newspaper

Pitch Wars

The Official Site of #PitchWars Contests

The Winged Pen

It takes a flock to get a story aloft.

Life, Love and Letters

Things I want my kids to know, and what they've taught me so far...

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

L.L. McKinney

Science Fiction & Fantasy Author

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

The Writings and Rantings of Frank L. Cole

Tales of the funny, the sweet, and everything in between

Literary Rambles

Tales of the funny, the sweet, and everything in between

TL Sumner, YA Author

Play hard. Love harder.

Tales of the funny, the sweet, and everything in between

Shanda McCloskey, Children's Illustrator

Tales of the funny, the sweet, and everything in between

Kid Lit Dish

Kim's Magical Journey Into the World of Children's Picture Books

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

